User rights and permissions
Help:User rights and permissions
Wazeopedia is built by the community. In order to allow maximum capabilities without posing risks there is a simple permission structure used in Wazeopedia. This article will help you understand how things work.
Who can edit Wazeopedia?
Any user can edit the local wikis after logging in with their Waze username.
The Global wiki and few Local wikis are restricted so only local champs can edit them. Feel free to contact your local community through the forum if you encounter an issue with your editing permissions. You can also email your community manager from Waze.
Understanding Wazeopedia rights
Wazeopedia is using the following permission policies:
Local wiki permissions
By default this is the normal policy:
- Logged-in users (users group) can edit any page (except those which are manually set as protected)
- Local wiki champs (local-champs group):
- Deleting pages
- Protecting pages
- Mark pages for translation
- Restoring deleted pages
- Waze Staff (Sysop/interface administrator group)
- Editing interface messages - changing interface wording, stylesheets and scripts.
- Manage user right - grant user rights to other users.
Note that local wikis' permissions can be adjusted by request of the local community members.
See this page to know which groups user has.
Is restricted for editing only to Waze staff team.
Who can delete pages and files?
Only champs can delete pages in the local wikis.
How can I change settings in the MediaWiki namespace?
Only Waze staff can edit the medaiwiki name space. This is done for security reasons. If you need some interface changes please contact Waze community team via the forum or by e-mail
How can I grant myself champs permissions?
If you need champs permission please contact Waze community team via the forum or by e-mail.