You can see your own editing rank from the Waze Map Editor on the top left of the screen. Your rank appears as a series of cones with a number. Also note that currently the segments you edit on the map will show your rank using the older rank number system in pace before January 2012.
If your rank is lower than what it should be (based on the criteria below), please contact support to have the team look into the situation.
|Description||Rank (WME)||Rank (segment edits on map and old Cartouche editor)||Notes|
|Admin, System, or Basemap import||N/A||-1||Includes segments which have not been created or edited by an actual user, but exist from the initial data import (called the basemap) will show this information.|
|New user (less than 100K map edits)||1||0||All users start in this group, unless they are a member of one of the other groups listed|
|IGN editor||N/A||1||Used by paid editors working for a Waze subcontractor.|
|Area Manager||4||2||After you get experience editing 1 mile around your travels, you can request managing your area through support. See below. Area Managers (AM) can edit anything, including locked objects, within their assigned area.|
|Over 100K map edits||5||3||Area Managers automatically move up to this level after 100K map edits as well.|
|Over 200,000 edits||6||4||Country-wide editing rights can be requested via email.|
|Over 200,000 edits and granted country-wide editing rights||6||4+||Once you reach 200K map edits, you can separately request through the support group that you be granted country wide editing rights for the server on which you participate. This is not a separate editing rank, but the old rank system used that term to refer to country-wide editors.|
When an editor locks a segment, it currently has two functions:
- Automatic adjustments
- Editing ability
A locked segment will not be changed by GPS tracks both in terms of geometry and directionality.
Segment Editing ability
A locked segment cannot be changed by an editor of a rank lower than that of the locking editor, or the rank of the editor who last edited the segment. The rank is locked based on the last person to edit the segment, and not the user who created it.
You can edit segments based on your editing rank and Editable area. Once a segment is locked, only a user with the same (or higher) rank, or an Area Manager whose area includes that segment, can edit the segment again.
A junction is considered to be locked when at least one segment which is connected to that junction is locked. A junction is locked from making driving-based changes (such as opening a restricted turn) once one of the turn restrictions in that junction is edited.
Speed cameras editing ability
The last person to edit the speed cam is basically locking it to their rank. A user with a lower rank will not be able to change / delete the camera, unless they are the owner of the camera or if it's in their area of management.
Area Managers can override anything locked, even if it was locked by an editor of a higher rank.
A growing list of Area Managers and their preferred contact details can be found here.