User:Voludu2/UR

From Wazeopedia

< User:Voludu2

Revision as of 12:45, 17 September 2014 by Voludu2 (talk | contribs) (derivative work of https://wiki.waze.com/wiki/index.php?title=User:DwarfLord/UR&oldid=77466)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)

This is a collection of boilerplate responses for most typically encountered UR issues.
Many thanks to DwarfLord, from whom I copied most of this text. I only changed the wording to sound more like me.

Update Requests with no immediately obvious issue

General Error with no descriptive text

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your "general error" report. Waze does not tell us much about your drive and we're stumped. What was wrong with the map? Can you provide any detail? Please respond using the Waze app, emails don't work with the reporting system. (Open to any editor)

Wrong Driving Direction with no descriptive text

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your "wrong driving direction" report. Waze does not tell us much about your drive; we don't even know where you were going! What went wrong with the route Waze gave you? Can you tell us your destination as you entered it into Waze? Please answer from the Waze app; reply from email won't work (Open to any editor)

Incorrect Junction with no descriptive text

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your "incorrect junction" report. Waze does not tell us much about your drive. What junction was incorrect? What was incorrect about it? Please answer from the Waze app; reply from email won't work (Open to any editor)

Turn Not Allowed with no descriptive text

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your "turn not allowed" report. Waze does not tell us much about your drive. What turn was not allowed? At what intersection? Please answer from the Waze app; reply from email won't work (Open to any editor)

Update Requests with common solutions

Fixed -- road geometry change

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report. Thanks to your report we've found and fixed a problem with the map. You should see the fix within 2 days. Thank you for your report!


Fixed -- other change

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report. Thanks to your report we've found and fixed a problem with the map. You should see the fix within 2 weeks. Thank you for your report!

No response

We're sorry we could not identify your problem; we'll be closing this report. If it happens again, please submit a new map issue with enough information to find the problem. Thanks!

Pronunciation

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report of poor pronunciation by Waze text-to-speech (TTS). Unfortunately even the seniormost volunteers have little influence on the TTS system, and none of us can alter how any one street name is pronounced. I understand the frustration and I sympathize. Sorry not to be more help. Thank you for your report!

The "Waze 180"

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report. When you ask for a route immediately after waking up Waze, it has to guess what direction you are pointed. If it guesses wrong, it may give you an awkward route. When Waze does this, please drive a little in the direction you are pointed and then ask for the route again. Waze will recalculate and may offer you a better route. If I've guessed your problem wrong, please answer from the Waze app; reply from email won't work. Otherwise we'll close out this report in a few days. Thank you for your report! (Open to any editor)

Google fu (easy)

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report. The problem was caused by inaccurate data provided by Google (Waze gets most of its address locations from Google). We asked Google to fix its database and they accepted the request. Please allow at least three days for the fix to go live. Then please remove the destination from your Waze app's navigation history and/or favorites list and wait at least a few minutes before adding it back. This will remove the old (wrong) position. Thank you for your report!

Google fu (difficult)

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report. The problem is caused by inaccurate data provided by Google (Waze gets most of its address locations from Google). We have asked Google to fix its database but we have no control over how fast Google will respond. It is usually days, but it can be weeks or even months. We'll leave this report open in the meantime. Thank you for your report!

Google FAIL, how to use Waze

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report. The problem is caused by inaccurate data provided by Google (Waze gets most of its destination locations from Google). We cannot persuade Google to change its database for large or high-profile areas such as parks and airports. But you can work around this problem with Waze. First, remove all instances of the destination from your recents and favorites lists. Then search again, but when you enter your search terms, DO NOT SELECT ANY OF THE IMMEDIATELY-OFFERED ITEMS, EVEN IF YOU SEE A PERFECT MATCH! Instead, scroll to the bottom of the menu and select "More results for...". Under "Other search engines", choose Waze and select your destination. This adds it to your recents list, and so you won't have to repeat the process the next time. You can also add this correct location to your favorites list. Thank you for your report!

Bogus GPS

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report. It looks like your GPS position information was inaccurate. Bad GPS position data can cause all sorts of problems. Waze may think you are on some other road and give you wrong directions to get you back to the road you're already on. To prevent this, please give your handheld device as clear a view of the sky as possible so it can give you more accurate GPS positions.

I'm sorry that there is nothing we can do to the maps to help you with this. Thank you for your report!

Still tracking stale route

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report. It looks like you left Waze's recommended route, but Waze thought you were still following its instructions. GPS isn't perfect, and when you are travelling very close to the Waze route, Waze assumes you are still on its suggested route. The instructions simply don't make any sense because you aren't on that route any more.

Did you leave the route intentionally, or because the Waze instructions were confusing?

Stale or bogus traffic indications/routing

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report about wrong traffic indications. We volunteer map editors can't do anything about Waze's traffic reporting, but I can explain what may have happened.

Waze relies on data from people using Waze to assess traffic. In the case of a fresh accident or slowdown, Waze may not yet have enough data to realize it needs to route you around it. After enough Wazers are caught in the slow-down, Waze will start routing wazers around the traffic. Then, after the traffic improves, it may take a while before Waze has enough data to understand this, and may keep routing wazers around the area. Sometimes, slow-moving or parked Wazers can make Waze think there is bad traffic (never run Waze while walking, biking, or parking along roads).

I'm sorry we can't help you with this. Thank you for your report!

Waited forever to make Waze's recommended left turn

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report. I would hate it too if Waze asked me to make a left turn through heavy traffic!

Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do to tell waze to recommend a different route. The good news is that Waze keeps track of how long it takes to make a turn. Thanks to your experience, other drivers are less likely to be routed this way during peak traffic hours. Thank you for your report!

Unexplained detour

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report. I can't find anything in the map to explain the detour Waze gave you. Waze may have thought there was traffic, or a daily pattern of traffic at that time. Or maybe Waze does not have enough data to know that the detour is not actually faster. Sometimes, waze suggests complex detours to shave a few seconds off your trip, or it is relying on slightly stale traffic data while it waits for more Wazers to drive through. Or other Wazers may have reported a temporary street closure in the area.

Because we cannot identify any problem with the map itself, we cannot find anything to fix. I'm sorry we cannot help you. Thank you for your report!

Unexplained NON-detour

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report. I can't find anything on the map to explain why Waze did not route you around the traffic. Waze may not yet have had enough data from wazers to know the traffic was bad on the route it recommended, or had stale traffic data about the route it rejected.

Map editors can't do anything about Waze traffic detection and routing, but we have checked that the map itself looks OK. Thank you for your report!

Bogus "missing road" and "missing bridge overpass" reports from highway drivers

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report of a missing road or bridge overpass. The drivable roads along this highway have been pretty thoroughly mapped and we can't see anything missing that should ordinarily be there. If you were driving at highway speeds, Waze could have chosen not to show you some smaller roads to avoid clutter. And the waze map display does not show the physical "stacking order" at overpasses; it puts more-major roads on top.

If you are certain a road is missing from the map (zoom in while parked off the road), please answer from the Waze app; reply from email won't work. Thank you for your report!

(Open to any editor)

Short-term closure reported as a map issue

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report regarding a road closure. How long will the road be closed? If it is only for a few days or less, we volunteer map editors can't be much help. It takes at least that long for our edits to make it to handheld devices! Next time you see short-term road closures, please use the Report->Closure feature in the Waze app (you used Report->Map issue to file this report). If this is a long-term closure please answer from the Waze app (reply from email won't work) and tell us as much as you can. Otherwise we'll close out this report in a few days.

If you are ever aware of a scheduled closure in advance of the road closing, please make a report with full details so we can schedule the map closure in advance.

Thank you for your report! (Open to any editor)

Used Map-Issue field to enter navigation destination

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report, which only contained an address. Did you mean to enter the address as a navigation destination? If there is a problem with the address please answer from the Waze app (reply from email won't work) and explain what went wrong. Otherwise we'll assume this was an accident and close out this report in a few days. Thank you for your report! (Open to any editor)

No hablo muy bien el Español

Lo siento, estamos voluntarios solamente para mantener las mapas. No hablamos muy bien el Español y no podemos ayudar con el aplicación.

(Regrets, we are volunteers only for maintaining the maps. We don't speak Spanish well and we can't help with the application.)

NO THRU TRAFFIC

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report. When a road is posted RESIDENTIAL ONLY or NO THRU TRAFFIC, we map editors need to respect that. And the only way to signal this in Waze is to call it a private road. If you do choose to drive on this road, Waze will automatically recalculate a route toward your destination.

I'm sorry for the confusion. It is confusing for map editors too. Thank you for your report.

Possible routing bug

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report. The little bit of your drive Waze shows with your report looks like a weird choice to me, too. I've checked everywhere I can think of and unfortunately I can't find anything wrong with the map.

At the moment, Waze is currently working speed detection for different turns out of an intersection. In rare instances this issue can lead Waze to suggest non-ideal routes, usually involving one or more U-turns or loops. I have no way to know if this is the cause of your issue, I am certain that I cannot identify any possible cause on the map.

I'm sorry I cannot help. Thanks for your report.

We can't do U-turns

Hi! I'm a wazer like you working on your report about U-turns. Waze does consider U-turns when preparing a route for you, but the app cannot yet give voice instructions for U-turns. Since this could make it hard for drivers to follow any route that includes U-turns, the editing community has decided to tell Waze that these U-turns are not allowed. This includes the U-turn that you wanted to make. One day, we hope Waze will improve this feature. Until then, I am sorry that I cannot identify any map fixes to help you. Thank you for your report.

We can't do "continue straight" (usually a followup response)

I've seen that too, and it can be confusing. The Waze app by intention has no "continue straight" voice instruction, to limit the distractions while you drive.

There is nothing we can do to the map to change this behavior. I am sorry I can't help. Thanks for your report.