Difference between revisions of "Editable area"

From Wazeopedia
(replacing https by http in external links (to not display the lock icon))
 
(Marked as global wiki page)
Line 1: Line 1:
* [http://world.waze.com/dashboard/ Dashboard]
+
<!--if the section parameter is defined, do not place the visible banner, only as the code block for the top of a section-->{{GlobalMark/visible}}
* [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HVksbb1Z4SQ Waze Map Editor Guide Full Clip (Video)]
+
<!--
* [http://world.waze.com/editor/ WME] (Waze Map Editor)
+
#####-----#####-----#####-----#####-----#####-----#####-----#####-----#####-----
* [http://world.waze.com/forum/index.php Waze Forum]
+
####    This page has been curated  ####
* [http://world.waze.com/wiki/ Waze Wiki]
+
####    to be included in the new    ####
 +
####    Wazeopedia - GLOBAL Wiki.  ####
 +
####    Please do not make any      ####
 +
####    edits on this page without  ####
 +
####    PRIOR CONSENSUS in the Wiki  ####
 +
####    Updates and Discussions      ####
 +
####    forum thread for this page.  ####
 +
####    If a specific forum thread  ####
 +
####    for this page doesn't exist  ####
 +
####    please start one.            ####
 +
####        www.waze.com/forum/     ####
 +
####        viewforum.php?f=276      ####
 +
#####-----#####-----#####-----#####-----#####-----#####-----#####-----#####-->
 +
 
 +
In real edit mode (logged in), you can make changes with your ''Editable Area.'' Your editable area consists of:
 +
* The roads you have driven recently (see note below).
 +
* Areas within a certain distance of those roads. How far this distance extends depends on your [[editing rank]].
 +
* Areas in which you are the [[Area Manager]], a privilege you can request if you are at least rank 3. You can edit your assigned area, even if you have not driven a road nearby recently.
 +
 
 +
You can highlight your editable area on the map by turning on the [[Map Editor Interface and Controls#Editable areas|layer for Editable Area]].
 +
 
 +
 
 +
'''Some roads within your editable area may have further restrictions.''' Review all the sections of the [[Editing restrictions]] page for more information.
 +
 
 +
{{Anchor|recent drives}}'''Recent drives'''<br>
 +
Waze records your drives when it is operating with or without navigating to a destination. You can see a history of those drives in the editor. Make sure you have no roads or landmarks selected, and click the Drives link in the side panel.
 +
 
 +
Short drives are usually added to the Drives list almost immediately. Longer drives may take a day or two to appear.
 +
 
 +
After a certain period of time, these drives expire. They may still show in your drives list, but Waze will no longer remember the drive details, and the editing area will be removed, unless there is a more recent drive.
 +
 
 +
You can tell the difference between recent drives and expired drives in the Drives panel. Recent drives are a clickable link which will show the path of the drive. Expired drives show the summary (date, elapsed time, length), but you can't click them.
 +
 
 +
{{Anchor|Drive expiration}}'''Editable Area expiration'''<br>
 +
An editable area will expire after {{:Editable area/DriveExpiration}} of your last drive in that area.<noinclude>
 +
 
 +
[[Category:Transcludable pages]]
 +
 
 +
</noinclude>

Revision as of 12:07, 1 July 2015

Wazeopedia.png

In real edit mode (logged in), you can make changes with your Editable Area. Your editable area consists of:

  • The roads you have driven recently (see note below).
  • Areas within a certain distance of those roads. How far this distance extends depends on your editing rank.
  • Areas in which you are the Area Manager, a privilege you can request if you are at least rank 3. You can edit your assigned area, even if you have not driven a road nearby recently.

You can highlight your editable area on the map by turning on the layer for Editable Area.


Some roads within your editable area may have further restrictions. Review all the sections of the Editing restrictions page for more information.

Recent drives
Waze records your drives when it is operating with or without navigating to a destination. You can see a history of those drives in the editor. Make sure you have no roads or landmarks selected, and click the Drives link in the side panel.

Short drives are usually added to the Drives list almost immediately. Longer drives may take a day or two to appear.

After a certain period of time, these drives expire. They may still show in your drives list, but Waze will no longer remember the drive details, and the editing area will be removed, unless there is a more recent drive.

You can tell the difference between recent drives and expired drives in the Drives panel. Recent drives are a clickable link which will show the path of the drive. Expired drives show the summary (date, elapsed time, length), but you can't click them.

Editable Area expiration
An editable area will expire after 90 days of your last drive in that area.