(Redirected from Editing area)
In real edit mode (logged in), you can make changes within your editable area. Your editable area consists of:
- The roads you have driven recently (see note below).
- Areas within a certain distance of those roads. How far this distance extends depends on your editing rank.
- Areas in which you are the Area Manager. You can edit your assigned area, even if you have not driven a road nearby recently.
You can highlight your editable area on the map by turning on the layer for editable area.
An object is editable if any portion of it is inside one of your editable areas, subject to any further restrictions covered in the editing restrictions page.
Waze records your drives when it is operating with or without navigating to a destination while your device has constant GPS and GSM/3G/4G network connectivity. You can see a history of those drives in the editor. Make sure you have nothing selected, and click the Drives tab in the side panel.
Short drives are usually added to the drives list almost immediately. Longer drives may take a day or two to appear.
After a certain period of time, these drives expire. They may still show in your drives list, but Waze will no longer display the drive details, unless there is a more recent drive. This timing may not coincide directly with the expiration of your editable area, noted below.
You can tell the difference between recent drives and expired drives in the Drives panel. Recent drives are a clickable link which will show the path of the drive. Expired drives show the summary (date, elapsed time, length), but you can't click them.
Editable area gained by a drive expires 90 days after the date of the drive or on the last day of the third month after the drive, whichever is later. An area manager appointment could also be revoked after 90 days of inactivity.