When an editor locks a segment, it currently has two functions:
- Automatic adjustments
- Editing ability
A locked segment will not be changed by GPS tracks both in terms of geometry and directionality.
Segment Editing ability
A locked segment cannot be changed by an editor of a rank lower than that of the locking editor, or the rank of the editor who last edited the segment. The rank is locked based on the last person to edit the segment, and not the user who created it.
You can edit segments based on your editing rank and Editable area. Once a segment is locked, only a user with the same (or higher) rank can edit the segment again. This includes turn restrictions from any segment attached to a junction which also has a locked segment connected to it.
A junction is considered to be locked when any segment which is connected to that junction is locked. A junction is locked from making driving-based changes (such as opening a restricted turn) once one of the turn restrictions in that junction is edited.
Speed cameras editing ability
The last person to edit the speed cam is basically locking it to their rank. A user with a lower rank will not be able to change / delete the camera, unless they are the owner of the camera or if it's in their area of management.
Area Managers can edit any unlocked objects within their defined area. This includes overriding a lock on an object of a lower-ranking editor. Area managers cannot override anything locked by an editor of a higher rank.
A growing list of Area Managers and their preferred contact details can be found here.